We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

ICR024 - WALK ONTO SUN "Walk Onto Sun"

by Icy Cold Records

Tension City 03:15
Cast In Pale 04:04
Medicate 04:34
Empty Vessel 04:55
Feral Plains 04:39
Grow Static 06:57


Walk Onto Sun is the solo vessel of Los Angeles, CA musician Ben Engebretson. The project began in 2016 with In the Inside EP, a recording of songs that webzine I Die: You Die described as, “fractured minimal wave, bleary post-punk, with a restless and claustrophobic mood.” After some local live performances, Ben continued to evolve and experiment with Grow Static, released on cassette by Minnesota experimental label Phage Tapes. Not tightly fitting into any one genre, these songs showcased a diverse palette of surrealistic compositions with political themes of alienation, degradation of facts, and the demise of the middle class. CVLT Nation described the EP as, “one of the most exciting darkwave/industrial releases this year,” and, “a fantastic EP highly recommended for anyone into darkwave, industrial, trip-hop, or even ambient/experimental noise.”

In 2019, Walk Onto Sun’s first LP, released on French label Icy Cold Records, comes in full post-punk force with a dark dream like washing over the pulsing percussion. These hypnotic sounds find inspiration from older acts like Suicide and Public Image Ltd, and newer acts like The Soft Moon and Liars. Lyrical themes include a fluctuation between despair and hope living in current day America, navigating alienation, and taking on the autocratic tendencies of lies and disinformation. This LP features two brilliantly crafted atmospheric and ebm remixes of ‘Medicate’ by Spheric. Now a duo live, look out for live performances in the coming year and into 2020.


released September 27, 2019

Recorded, Produced, and Written by Ben Engebretson

Tracks 1-5:
Mixed by Chris King
Mastered by Rafael Anton Irisarri

Tracks 6-7:
Mixed and Mastered by Jeff Swearengin

Tracks 8-9:
Remixed by Spheric
Mastered by Rafael Anton Irisarri

Album Design by Eva evi:ke

Cover Art “Moving Circles” by Sophie Taeuber-Arp


all rights reserved



Icy Cold Records Paris, France

Independent Record Label focused on Post Punk & many more open mind music.

contact / help

Contact Icy Cold Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Icy Cold Records, you may also like: